The Chiefs

Chiefs Development Squad and programme announced

16 February 2012 Back to Latest News

The Chiefs have today announced the Chiefs A Development squad and programme which includes three matches through out the Chiefs region in March.

The side will play matches against Samoa ‘A’ and Fiji ‘A’ as part of the IRB Pacific Rugby Cup and a match against the Blues Development team. 

The Chiefs ‘A’ Development team will be coached byBayofPlenty Coach Kevin Schuler, Counties Manukau Coach, Tana Umaga and 2011New ZealandSchoolscoach Andrew Douglas fromWaikatoin consultation with the Chiefs coaches.

The squad has been selected from the Chiefs region Provincial Unions and includes the Chiefs wider training squad members and Chief squad players may also play in each of the matches.

In addition to the matches, the Chiefs Development programme also includes the Chiefs coaches Dave Rennie, Tom Coventry, Andrew Strawbridge and Wayne Smith taking coaching sessions with the squad and other identified younger players from the Chiefs region Provincial Unions.

Chiefs High Performance Manager Chris Tindall said “This Chiefs Development programme reflects our approach to work together with our Chiefs region Provincial Unions in the identifying, coaching and development of players and also coaches across the Chiefs region.

The combined coaching sessions with the Chiefs coaches and the Provincial Union coaches in addition to the matches which offer chances to play international first class fixtures against Samoa A and Tonga A will provide good learning and experience for the players which they can use for their ongoing development work with the Provincial Unions.”

Chiefs ‘A’ Development Team Matches

Saturday 3 March:   Chiefs ‘A’ Development v Blues Development @ Thames, kick off 2.30pm
Saturday 10 March:  Chiefs ‘A’ Development v Samoa ‘A’ @ Pukekohe, kick off 4.00pm
Saturday 17 March:  Chiefs ’A’ Development v Fiji ‘A’ @ Te Kuiti, kick off 3.00pm 

Tickets to the matches will be available on match day at the gate.

Chiefs ‘A’ Development Squad 2012

Josh Hohneck (Bay of Plenty)
Latu Talakai (Waikato)
Matt Talaese (Counties-Manukau)
Michael Kaianga (Bay of Plenty)
Fraser Armstrong (Waikato)

Marcel Cummings-Toone (Waikato)
Vance Elliott (Waikato)
Suliasi Taufalele (Counties-Manukau) 

Dom Waqaniburotu (Waikato)
Chris Middleton (Waikato)
Chris McLaren (Counties-Manukau)
Dan Goodwin (Bay ofPlenty)

Loose Forwards:
Ronald Raaymakers (Counties-Manukau)
Matt Vant Leven (Waikato)
Adam Cathcart (Counties-Manukau)
Zac Hohneck (Waikato)
Mark Selwyn (Counties-Manukau)
Rory Grice (Waikato)
Carl Axtens (Bay of Plenty) 

August Pulu (Counties-Manukau)
Jamie Nutbrown (Bay of Plenty)
Josh Hall (Bay ofPlenty)

First Fives:
Piers Francis (Waikato)
Baden Kerr (Counties-Manukau)

Midfield Backs:
Sam Christie (Waikato)
Rey Lee-lo (Counties-Manukau)
Glen Robertson (Waikato)
Bundee Ah-Kee (Counties-Manukau)

Outside Backs:
Ahsee Tuala (Counties-Manukau)
Tyrone Lefau (Counties-Manukau)
Trent Renata (Waikato) 
Steve Honey (Bay ofPlenty)


No comments have been posted yet.

Post a Comment

verification code

Please answer the simple equation in the field above.