The Chiefs

Investec Super Rugby wider training groups named

07 December 2012 Back to Latest News

New Super Rugby players report for duty



Twenty five players have been named in the wider training groups for the 2013
Investec Super Rugby teams.

Those named for the Blues, Chiefs, Hurricanes, Crusaders and Highlanders


Mike Kainga

Michael Leitch

Pauliasi Manu

Maritino Nemani

Matt Vant Leven

Pita Ahki
Joe Edwards
Albert Nikoro
Sean Polwart
Lolagi Visinia


Richard Buckman
Mike Coman
Ash Dixon
Callum Gibbins
Ope Peleseuma

Kurt Baker
Adrian Barone
Joel Everson
Paea Fa'anunu
Kieron Fonotia

Hugh Blake
Tony Ensor
Bronson Murray
Doug Tietjens
Frae Wilson

The wider training groups were named as those players new to Super Rugby squads in 2013
arrived in Wellington today for an induction day at the New Zealand Rugby
Union headquarters.

Those players plus wider training group players report for duty for the first
time with their franchises next week.

New Zealand Rugby Union General Manager Professional Rugby Neil Sorensen
said this was an exciting time for new players starting their Super Rugby
careers or on the verge of it through wider training groups.

"We consider Investec Super Rugby the best international regional
competition in the world. We know that these boys are hugely excited
about the opportunity to step up to Super Rugby, but on the back of some of
the form we saw in ITM Cup, we know we're in for a fantastic 2013 season.

"We wish all the new players well for the 2013 season and we're looking
forward to seeing them in action."

Chiefs Season Memberships on sale now visit:


No comments have been posted yet.

Post a Comment

verification code

Please answer the simple equation in the field above.