Next Game

Sponsorswaikatodraught2SponsorsSponsorsSponsors2degreesspliceNew Harcourts logo BLUE RGBSponsorsSponsorsSponsors

Hika Elliot to play his 100th game for the Gallagher Chiefs.

The tropical climate of Fiji is a fitting venue for the hottest contest on the Investec Super Rugby calendar this weekend when the Gallagher Chiefs take on the BNZ Crusaders at ANZ Stadium in Suva, Fiji. The Round 15 clash has extra significance, being the first ever Super Rugby game to be played in Fiji and a milestone game for veteran hooker Hika Elliot who will make his 100th appearance for the Gallagher Chiefs.

Gallagher Chiefs head coach Dave Rennie has named an experienced lineup to play the BNZ Crusaders. In the forwards Kane Hames, Hika Elliot and Japan prop Hiroshi Yamashita pack down in the front row, with Dominic Bird and Brodie Retallick forming a formidable locking partnership. The skillset and work ethic of Taleni Seu, Sam Cane and Tom Sanders make for a potent loose forward combination.

In the backs, Brad Weber dons jersey nine, with Stephen Donald’s exceptional performance against Wales being rewarded with a start at first five-eighth. Anton Lienert-Brown and Seta Tamanivalu link up in the mid-field, while James Lowe, Toni Pulu and Damian McKenzie complete the backline in jerseys 11, 14 and 15 respectively.

The Gallagher Chiefs team to play the BNZ Crusaders is:

1. Kane Hames (4)
2. Hika Elliot (99)
3. Hiroshi Yamashita (8)
4. Dominic Bird (6)
5. Brodie Retallick (67)
6. Taleni Seu (13)
7. Sam Cane (77) co-captain
8. Tom Sanders (10)
9. Brad Weber (37)
10. Stephen Donald (88)
11. James Lowe (32)
12. Anton Lienert-Brown (19)
13. Seta Tamanivalu (18)
14. Toni Pulu (8)
15. Damian McKenzie (28)

16. Nathan Harris (18)
17. Siegfried Fisi’ihoi (6)
18. Atu Moli (6)
19. Mitchell Brown (1)
20. Lachlan Boshier (3)
21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow (62)
22. Aaron Cruden (68)
23. Sam McNicol (7)

( ) = Gallagher Chiefs caps in brackets

Not considered for selection: Nepo Laulala, Mitchell Karpik, Pauliasi Manu, Sam Henwood, Johan Bardoul, Glen Fisiiahi, Maama Vaipulu, Michael Allardice, Rhys Marshall, Mitchell Graham, Tevita Koloamatangi, Michael Leitch, Chase Tiatia, Charlie Ngatai, Augustine Pulu (All Blacks Sevens) and Shaun Stevenson (New Zealand U20s).

Sponsorswaikatodraught2SponsorsSponsorsSponsors2degreesspliceNew Harcourts logo BLUE RGBSponsorsSponsorsSponsors