June 12, 2024

Gallagher Chiefs maintain momentum for Semi-Final

The Gallagher Chiefs earned another week in the DHL Super Rugby Pacific playoffs after a precise performance at home for the Quarter Final.

Backing the form and synergy of that team, head coach Clayton McMillan will field the same group for their Semi-Final clash against the Hurricanes.

“Our key focus is accuracy and discipline. We improved significantly against the Reds, and that alone enabled us to play the type of game we know we have always been capable of playing. It is also encouraging that we have a fit and fresh squad who are chomping at the bit, and for the first time this year, we are able to name an unchanged matchday 23,” said McMillan.

Many standout performances happened across the park last week to cement this week’s team selection. In particular, hooker Samisoni Taukei’aho who scored two tries in the first half and first-five Damian McKenzie continued his strong form, adding another 13 points to his competition-leading point-scorer tally of 157 so far this season.

“The Hurricanes have set the pace in this year’s DHL Super Rugby Pacific competition, have earned the right to get the home advantage through the finals, and will be formidable opposition again in front of a large and expectant home crowd,” said McMillan.

“They are a well-balanced team, riding high on confidence. They will be a tough nut to crack as we have already experienced twice this year. Playing each other for a third time creates new opportunities. I imagine both teams will draw on previous experiences to understand where the gains can be made.”

The game kicks off at the family-friendly time of 4.35pm on Saturday at Sky Stadium, Wellington.

Gallagher Chiefs team to face the Hurricanes:
1. Aidan Ross
2. Samisoni Taukei’aho
3. George Dyer
4. Jimmy Tupou
5. Tupou Vaa’i
6. Samipeni Finau
7. Luke Jacobson (captain)
8. Wallace Sititi
9. Cortez Ratima
10. Damian McKenzie
11. Etene Nanai-Seturo
12. Rameka Poihipi
13. Anton Lienert-Brown
14. Emoni Narawa
15. Shaun Stevenson

16. Bradley Slater
17. Jared Proffit
18. Reuben O’Neill
19. Naitoa Ah Kuoi
20. Simon Parker
21. Xavier Roe
22. Quinn Tupaea
23. Daniel Rona

Unavailable for selection: Kaleb Trask, Malachi Wrampling, Gideon Wrampling and Josh Lord.

Gallagher Chiefs maintain momentum for Semi-Final