Gallagher Chiefs co-captain Aaron Cruden has announced today he will be departing New Zealand


Members of the Chiefs Rugby Club have visited the Hamilton City Council this afternoon to meet with representatives and apologise in person for distress caused from comments made by players participating in a Chiefs training on Wednesday at Steele Park.

The two female parking wardens were present at the meeting along with Acting CEO Kelvyn Eglinton and other representatives from Hamilton City Council. During the amicable meeting the incident was discussed at length.

An apology was offered by player representatives on behalf of the Chiefs and was accepted by the Parking Wardens and their management.

The Chiefs accept full responsibility for the unacceptable language used at Steele Park on Wednesday and are deeply embarrassed at the ramifications caused by using this language amongst their peer group. The Chiefs sincerely apologise for the impact it has on those who support the organisation including sponsors, fans and the wider rugby community.

Having the opportunity to meet and discuss the issue openly clarified Wednesday’s incident from the perspective of both parties and the explanation provided by the Chiefs was accepted.

The incident was made public by a member of the community who approached media and not by the parking wardens themselves.

The issue has been dealt with to the satisfaction of both the Hamilton City Council and the Chiefs Rugby Club.

No further comment will be provided.  

The Gallagher Chiefs Summer Roadie kicks off on Thursday 19th January with an action packed itinerary.

The team were at a training yesterday at a public park where some team members had parked vehicles that received parking tickets.

Colin Cooper will lead the Gallagher Chiefs into a new era in 2018, the Chiefs and New Zealand Rugby
announced today.


Player Profile

  • Player
  • Statistic
  • Matches
  • Photos
Sam Cane
Full Name: Sam Cane
Team: Chiefs
Position:Loose forward
Super Rugby Games:82
Super Rugby Points:55 (11t)
Super Rugby Debut:2011 v Lions in Johannesburg
Province:Bay of Plenty
Provincial Games:19
Provincial Points:25 (5t)
Provincial Debut:2010 v Auckland in Mt Maunganui
Test Caps:37
Test Points:55 (11t)
Test Debut:2012 v Ireland in Christchurch
Facebook ID:456670991114990
Twitter Username:SamCane7
Youtube:Sam Cane

"Sam is a true professional in every sense of the word.  He thrived as co-captain of the team in 2016 and we look forward to seeing him lead across the field in 2017."- The Chiefs

Sam enters his sixth season with the Chiefs and is a key part of the team’s leadership.  On the back of a stellar Super Rugby season last year he collected  the Chiefs Players’ Player of the Year and showed many mature performances in his role as co-captain.   

The talented loose forward has won two Investec Super Rugby titles, the 2015 Rugby World Cup, a U20 Junior World Championship gold medal and is a former New Zealand Rugby Age Group Player of the Year.

If you weren’t a rugby player, what would you be doing?
Guitarist in a rock band

Who was your favourite player as a kid?
Jeff Wilson

What event would you go to the Olympics for … No sevens allowed!
Beach Volleyball

Favourite sportsperson outside rugby?
Roger Federer

Forwards- What position would you put yourself in the backline and why?
Backs- What position would you put yourself in the forward pack and why?

Second Five

What’s your go to meal in the kitchen?
Creamy Chicken Fettucine

What’s your mum’s best meal for her boy?
Roast Lamb

Who is the best singer in the team?
Nathan Harris

Favourite movie quote?
Life is a game of inches, so is football –Al Pacino-Any given Sunday

What would you spend your last $10 on?
Two handles of beer for me and a mate

2016 Investec Super Rugby Table