March 10, 2021

2021 University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20’s squad confirmed

The Chiefs Rugby Club today announced the University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20’s for 2021. The exciting squad will be steadily guided by Waikato’s Paul Hodder and is assisted by Greg Smith (Waikato), Jarrad Hoeata (Taranaki), Chad Shepherd (Counties Manukau) and James Porter (Bay of Plenty).

Hodder and his Assistants have selected a 34-man squad from across Chiefs Country. The squad will be reduced to 26 for the Super Rugby Under 20’s Tournament to be held in Taupo early April.

Hodder said the commitment from the wider training group has been outstanding and has made for a difficult selection process.

“We began the process in November, and it has been a tough decision selecting the squad after training, testing and trials. During this time, players have stepped up with their conditioning and skill level, along with big travel commitments, we have been impressed with their commitment and all players can be proud of their achievements.

“We have a good balance of both Under 20 and Under 19 players which will put us in a good position for the future,” said Hodder.

Hodder said preparation over the coming weeks will be important for the Super Rugby Under 20 tournament.

“With three games in a week, which will be physically and mentally taxing, our preparation will be key to perform against the best in New Zealand at Under 20 level,” said Hodder.

Chiefs Rugby Club Player ID and Development Manager Kent Currie said the tournament provides the Club with the opportunity to educate a talented pool of players from within the Chiefs Region.

“The Super Rugby Under 20 Tournament is a fantastic new initiative by New Zealand Rugby. Our players are excited to be playing on home soil against the best Under 20 players in our country. The provincial academy programmes within the Chiefs region are operating to a high standard at present, and it has given us a big depth of talent to choose from. This campaign gives us an opportunity to educate the players about the values of Chiefs Rugby,” said Currie.

2021 University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20’s:
Adam Lennox (Taranaki)
Ben Strang (Waikato)
Bernie Hati (Bay of Plenty)
Cassius Misa (Bay of Plenty)
Cody Nordstrom (Waikato)
Curtis Palmer (Bay of Plenty)
Daniel Sinkinson (Waikato)
Gideon Wrampling (Waikato)
Hakaria Richards-Coxhead (Waikato)
Havila Molia (Waikato)
Hemopo Cunningham (Taranaki)
Ioane Moananu (Counties Manukau)
Jadin Kingi (Counties Manukau)
JJ Pokai (Taranaki)
Jona Mataiciwa (Bay of Plenty)
Josh Bartlett (Bay of Plenty)
Josh Hopkins (Taranaki)
Josh Jacomb (Taranaki)
Kane O’Connor (Bay of Plenty)
Larenz Tupaea Thomsen (Counties Manukau)
Latrell Smiler - Ah Kiong (Waikato)
Lucas Cashmore (Bay of Plenty)
Mason Tupaea (Waikato)
Melino Fotu (Bay of Plenty)
Nathaniel Peters (Taranaki)
Nikora Broughton (Bay of Plenty)
Niwa Barlow (Taranaki)
Scott Jury (Taranaki)
Te Paea Cook-Savage (Waikato)
Te Rama Reuben (Waikato)
Tevita Ofa (Counties Manukau)
Thor Manase (Counties Manukau)
Tu’kalikali Vaipulu (Bay of Plenty)
Veveni Lasaqa (Bay of Plenty)

Team Management
Head Coach: Paul Hodder (Waikato)
Scrum & Defence: Greg Smith (Waikato)
Forwards & Lineout: Jarrad Hoeata (Taranaki)
Skills: Chad Shepherd (Counties Manukau)
Contact & Analysis: James Porter (Bay of Plenty)
Manager: David Fox (Waikato)
Trainers: Tim Hurst (Waikato) & Scott Joblin (Bay of Plenty)
Physiotherapists: Rachel Lambert (Bay of Plenty) & Lauren MacDonald (Bay of Plenty)

Saturday 3 April: Blues Under 20s vs. University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20s, Bombay, 1.00pm

Saturday 10 April – Saturday 17 April: Super Rugby U20 Tournament, Taupo

2021 University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20’s squad confirmed