November 03, 2021

2022 Chiefs Women’s Squad announced

Grab your 2022 Membership

Chiefs Women Head Coach Allan Bunting has named a 27 strong squad for the upcoming 2022 Super Rugby Aupiki competition.

Ten of the twenty-seven talented players selected will be in line to make their Chiefs debut when the competition kicks off next year. The exciting squad has a wealth of experience with 16 current or former Black Ferns, alongside four current Black Ferns Sevens players who will link up again with their former coach Allan Bunting.

Chiefs Country is well represented with ten players from both Bay of Plenty and Waikato respectively, four from Counties Manukau with the remaining three players joining from outside the region. An additional player will be named following the Black Ferns end of year tour to complete the 28-player squad.

Chiefs Women’s Head Coach Allan Bunting said he was fortunate to be able to select an abundance of experienced players alongside some outstanding developing youngsters.

“We are certainly blessed with the talent we have in our squad. A lot of genuine experience at the highest level balanced out with exciting younger talent and potential. We have the added benefit that a number of players have the ability to play more than one position, which is always a bonus.”

Bunting said he would hope to achieve a culture and environment that would encourage the group to express their potential.

“With this group we have the opportunity to create a tightly connected, very competitive environment where we can truly make the most of what is in front of us and most importantly enjoy doing it,” said Bunting.

Chiefs Rugby Club CEO Michael Collins said he was thrilled with the squad selected and was eager to see what they can produce on the field.

“We are privileged to be able to select the vast majority of our Chiefs Women’s squad from an exceptional talent pool within Chiefs Country. The squad has a healthy balance of x-factor, experience and hard workers, which I am sure will provide healthy competition among the group as they prepare and take part in Super Rugby Aupiki.”

“We know our Chiefs fans will be thrilled with the squad selected and will be eager to see the mix of experience and youthful talent on display when the competition commences,” said Collins.

2022 Chiefs Women’s Squad

Tanya Kalounivale (Waikato, 1)
Angel Mulu (Bay of Plenty, 1)
Awhina Tangen-Wainohu (Waikato, 1)
Santo Taumata (Bay of Plenty, *)
Jayjay Taylor (Bay of Plenty, *)

Luka Connor (Bay of Plenty, 1)
Grace Houpapa-Barrett (Waikato, 1)

Locks/Loose Forwards
Victoria Edmonds (Waikato, *)
Les Elder (Bay of Plenty, 1)
Chyna Hohepa (Waikato, 1)
Kendra Reynolds (Bay of Plenty, 1)
Kennedy Simon (Waikato, 1)
Pia Tapsell (Bay of Plenty, 1)
Harono Te Iringa (Counties Manukau, 1)
Kelsie Wills (Bay of Plenty, 1)

Ariana Bayler (Waikato, 1)
Maia Joseph (Otago, *)
Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu (Counties Manukau, 1)

First Five-Eighths
Kelly Brazier (Bay of Plenty, *)
Hazel Tubic (Counties Manukau, 1)

Midfield/Outside Backs
Chelsea Alley (Waikato, 1)
Georgia Daals (Wellington, *)
Stacey Fluhler (*, Waikato)
Carla Hohepa (Waikato, *)
Ruby Tui (Bay of Plenty, *)
Renee Wickliffe (Bay of Plenty, 1)
Portia Woodman (Northland, *)

Chiefs Memberships are on sale now and include a Chiefs Women home match, view more info here

Sponsorship packages for the Chiefs Women’s programme are now live. To find out more or to register your interest in supporting the Chiefs Women please contact Sponsorship & Events Manager Emma Langman at [email protected].

2022 Chiefs Women’s Squad announced