November 15, 2023

ASB Rugby Awards nominees announced

Congratulations to all of our Chiefs whānau who have been nominated for awards this year!

A blockbuster year for rugby in New Zealand will be celebrated with the 2023 ASB Rugby Awards show broadcast live on Sky Sport on 14 December.

From announcing the women's and men's players, coaches and teams of the year to acknowledging the volunteers at community level, awards will be presented for efforts on and off the field.

Two new awards for 2023 will recognise those at the heart of our game with the Bunnings Warehouse Rugby Club of the Year and the Te Hāpai New Zealand Rugby Community Impact Award.

Partnering with Bunnings Warehouse, the Rugby Club of the Year award will recognise a club that has achieved significant outcomes for their members and local community and will receive $5000 of Bunnings product for the maintenance of their clubrooms.

The Te Hāpai award will recognise an individual from a club, school, iwi, Provincial Union or Super Rugby club that has impacted their community across participation, culture, diversity and inclusion, women and girls, mental health and wellbeing, player welfare or leadership.

New Zealand Rugby CEO Mark Robinson said introducing new awards to acknowledge those at the heart of our game is brings their efforts to the forefront.

“We know that right across New Zealand many rugby clubs serve their communities far beyond rugby and recognising the great work of our clubs, with the support of Bunnings Warehouse, is a great inclusion in the awards. As is acknowledging the dedication from individuals across the game, we had some incredible nominations which highlight the special people involved in rugby.

“Congratulations to all those nominated for awards, it is a reflection on the hard work and tenacity shown across all levels of the game both on and off the field. We’ve had another bumper year of rugby so it's fantastic to be able to recognise the teams and individuals that have contributed to that."

Fans can be involved by voting for Sky Fans Try of the Year. Ten exceptional tries from across the year have been nominated. Fans can vote for their favourite try at

2023 ASB Rugby Award nominees are;

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year
Maggie Cogger-Orr
Angus Mabey
Ben O’Keeffe

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year
Chris Fife (Northland)
John Hume (Counties Manukau)
Sharlene Wiselam (Canterbury)
Allen Grainger (Waikato)

Bunnings Warehouse Rugby Club of the Year
Tamatea Rugby Sports Clubs (Hawke’s Bay)
Auckland University Rugby Football Club (Auckland)
Beachlands Maraetai Rugby Club (Counties Manukau)

Te Hāpai New Zealand Rugby Community Impact Award
Steven Li (Asian Non-Contact Rugby Program)
Te Kahurangi Skelton (Otago Māori Rugby)
Richard Perkins (Otago Rugby Football Union)

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year
Harry Godfrey (Hawke’s Bay)
Macca Springer (Tasman)
Angelica Mekeke-Vahai (Auckland)

Ian Kirkpatrick Medal (Bunnings Warehouse Heartland Championship Player of the Year)
Siu Kakala (South Canterbury)
Stuart Leach (Poverty Bay)
Alekesio Vakarorogo (Whanganui)

Duane Monkley Medal (Bunnings Warehouse NPC Player of the Year)
Etene Nanai-Seturo (Counties Manukau)
Adrian Choat (Auckland)
Fergus Burke (Canterbury)
Timoci Tavatavanawai (Tasman)

Fiao’o Faamausili Medal (FPC presented by Bunnings Warehouse Player of the Year)
Krysten Cottrell (Hawke’s Bay)
Laura Bayfield (Canterbury)
Kaipo Olsen-Baker (Manawatu)

ASB National Men’s Coach of the Year
Nigel Walsh (South Canterbury)
Neil Barnes (Taranaki)
Scott Robertson (Crusaders)

ASB National Women’s Coach of the Year
Rawinia Everitt (Northland)
Blair Baxter (Matatū)
Willie Walker (Auckland)

ASB New Zealand Coach of the Year
All Teams in Black coaches eligible

DHL Super Rugby Pacific Player of the Year
Mark Tele’a (Blues)
Scott Barrett (Crusaders)
Damian McKenzie (Chiefs)

Sky Super Rugby Aupiki Player of the Year
Renee Holmes (Matatū)
Lucy Jenkins (Matatū)
Luka Connor (Chiefs Manawa)
Tanya Kalounivale (Chiefs Manawa)

Tom French Memorial Māori Player of the Year
Aaron Smith (Ngāti Kahungunu, Manawatu)
Billy Harmon (Ngāi Tahu)
Stacey Waaka (Ngāi Tūhoe)
Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu (Nga Puhi, Ngai Tahuhu)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial All Blacks Sevens Player of the Year
Leroy Carter
Akuila Rokolisoa
Dylan Collier

Black Ferns Sevens Player of the Year
Jorja Miller
Stacey Waaka
Risaleaana Pouri-Lane

Black Ferns Player of the Year
Maiakawanakaulani Roos
Liana Mikaele-Tu’u
Amy du Plessis

All Blacks Player of the Year
Jordie Barrett
Scott Barrett
Ardie Savea
Aaron Smith

adidas National Men’s Team of the Year
Taranaki Bulls
South Canterbury

adidas National Women’s Team of the Year
Auckland Storm
Northland Kauri

adidas New Zealand Team of the Year
All Teams in Black eligible

To be presented on the night: Steinlager Salver – Outstanding contribution to New Zealand Rugby and Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year.

ASB Rugby Awards nominees announced