April 24, 2024

Boshier to captain Gallagher Chiefs against Waratahs

Kaylum Boshier will take over the captaincy for the first time this DHL Super Rugby Pacific season for the Gallagher Chiefs match in Sydney against the Waratahs. He replaces regular skipper Luke Jacobson who was not considered due to injury.

The quality loose forward is a proven leader, having successfully co-captained the Taranaki Bulls to their 2023 NPC title and is Vice Captain of the Gallagher Chiefs alongside Rameka Poihipi.

Gallagher Chiefs head coach Clayton McMillan said: “We are looking forward to making the trip over to Sydney. The team is feeling refreshed after bye week and the time on the road will be a good chance to reconnect.

“Kaylum also gets his chance to lead the side this weekend. He has gone about his work this season and does a lot of the unseen work both on and off the field. He isn’t one who enjoys the sound of his own voice, but when he speaks, people listen. He will do a great job leading the team this week."

Boshier slots in alongside Samipeni Finau at loose forward, with Wallace Sititi returning in the No.8 jersey. Aidan Ross, Samisoni Taukei’aho and George Dyer form a solid front row. Jimmy Tupou and Tupou Vaa’i, complete a tight five that will need to front up physically against a quality Waratahs pack.

Cover for the forward pack will come from the talented Tyrone Thompson, Jared Proffit, Reuben O’Neill, Manaaki Selby-Rickit and Simon Parker.

Cortez Ratima commands the starting halfback role, as does Damian McKenzie at first five. The dynamic Xavier Roe and Josh Ioane will resume their roles as invaluable impact.

In the midfield, Rameka Poihipi and Anton Lienert-Brown start, with Quinn Tupaea to support off the bench. The backline maintains continuity with the swift trio of Etene Nanai-Seturo, Emoni Narawa and Shaun Stevenson returning.

“The competition to date has been really competitive. The Waratahs have a quality roster and are much better than what the points table shows. They pressure your breakdown, defend resolutely, and can play some high-octane rugby. With both teams coming off a bye, there will be no shortage of energy and intent. We are anticipating a real battle and have prepared well,” said McMillan.

To commemorate the brave New Zealand and Australians who have served in wars overseas, past and present, the game will acknowledge Anzac Day which is observed on 25 April. Fans can text POPPY to 8595 to donate to instantly donate $3 to help the RSA support New Zealand Veterans.

Gallagher Chiefs team to face the Waratahs:
1. Aidan Ross
2. Samisoni Taukei’aho
3. George Dyer
4. Jimmy Tupou
5. Tupou Vaa’i
6. Samipeni Finau
7. Kaylum Boshier (captain)
8. Wallace Sititi
9. Cortez Ratima
10. Damian McKenzie
11. Etene Nanai-Seturo
12. Rameka Poihipi
13. Anton Lienert-Brown
14. Emoni Narawa
15. Shaun Stevenson

16. Tyrone Thompson
17. Jared Proffit
18. Reuben O’Neill
19. Manaaki Selby-Rickit
20. Simon Parker
21. Xavier Roe
22. Josh Ioane
23. Quinn Tupaea

Unavailable for selection: Kaleb Trask, Josh Lord, Ollie Norris, and Luke Jacobson.

All media enquiries to [email protected]

Boshier to captain Gallagher Chiefs against Waratahs