August 16, 2018

Chiefs Country Cup to be introduced for upcoming Mitre 10 Cup and Farah Palmer Cup seasons

A new exciting cup will be up for grabs in Chiefs Country for the upcoming Mitre 10 and Farah Palmer Cup seasons with the Mitre 10 Cup getting underway this weekend.

The four Chiefs provincial unions (Bay of Plenty, Counties Manukau, Taranaki and Waikato) now have more than competition points to play for when they face off against each other in their respective national provincial competition, with the Chiefs Country Cup now on the line to be won.

The first opportunity to win the cup will be this weekend when Bay of Plenty take on Taranaki at Rotorua International Stadium. The winner of this match will hold the cup, and it will then be challenged by the next Chiefs provincial union team, regardless whether the holder is playing home or away.

The Farah Palmer Cup fixture between Waikato and Counties Manukau on September 1 will also decide the inaugural holders of the cup in the Women’s competition who will then seek to defend it throughout the season.

Bay of Plenty Rugby Union are excited to be the first Provincial Union to host the first challenge for the Chiefs Country Cup against Taranaki this weekend.

Mike Rogers, Bay of Plenty Rugby Union CEO said it is a great initiative to be launched by the Chiefs to connect our four Provincial Unions.

“The cup ensures that the rivalries will be at an all-time high between the four provincial unions with even more on the line to play for and provides a great connection between the Chiefs Rugby Club and the four unions and fans.”

The special cup, designed by Dave Burke represents the Chiefs provincial unions playing in the Mitre 10 Cup through the four respective Kaitaiki’s on the design. The design is symbolic of the shape of a heart, representing that the unions are the heartbeat of the Investec Super Rugby team.

The cup’s design also features a Maunga which symbolises all the mountains in the Chiefs region, as well as the waterway and sacred waters that connect the four regions.

Chiefs Country Cup to be introduced for upcoming Mitre 10 Cup and Farah Palmer Cup seasons