April 15, 2024

Chiefs Manawa Award Winners Announced

The Chiefs Manawa last night celebrated their 2024 Sky Super Rugby Aupiki season with their annual awards event. The evening honoured the achievements of the team, the outstanding players, and the supporters, sponsors and management who made it all possible.

Chiefs Manawa head coach Crystal Kaua said: “Sport can be brutal, beautiful, fun and joyous and we have had all of that in our season. I have absolute belief that we will take these learnings and go on to be not just better on the field but as people beyond the game too.

“Our team wouldn’t be able to do what we love every day without our sponsors, staff and the Chiefs Rugby Club board. A massive thank you for the mahi you do, not just for our team, but for women’s rugby in New Zealand.”

Kicking off the awards was Mia Anderson, who took out the Fans Player of the Year and Players Player of the Year alongside captain Kennedy Simon. Anderson first debuted for Chiefs Manawa in 2022 and has had a phenomenal season after returning from maternity leave.

In addition to Players Player of the Year, captain Kennedy Simon also took out the Mana Koitate award, which acknowledges a player’s contributions to the club and their community. She also took home the top honour of Chiefs Manawa Player of the Year for her consistent performances and commitment to the team both on and off the field.

Rookie of the Year went to Matatū transfer Grace Steinmetz who had an outstanding first season in the Chiefs Manawa jersey, embracing a position shift from the wing to midfield. She quickly adapted to the change and was featured on the competition leaderboard throughout the season for carries and defenders beaten.

The duo of forwards Victoria Edmonds and Grace Kukutai took out Personality of the Year. A friendship that blossomed after meeting through the team at the start of the season has brought abundant energy to the whole environment.

Award Winners:
Fans Player Of The Year - Mia Anderson
Mana Kotiate - Kennedy Simon
Personality Of The Year - Victoria Edmonds and Grace Kukutai
Rookie Of The Year - Grace Steinmetz
Players Player Of The Year - Mia Anderson and Kennedy Simon
Player Of The Year - Kennedy Simon

Chiefs Manawa Award Winners Announced