March 12, 2024

Chiefs Squad Named for Super Rugby U20s Tournament

The Chiefs Rugby Club have named their University of Waikato Chiefs U20 squad to contest the Super Rugby U20 tournament in Taupō.

The tournament will run from 16-23 March at Owen Delany Park and provides a key opportunity for New Zealand team selectors to assess talent for the upcoming U20s Rugby Championship in April.

Gallagher Chiefs National Development Contract (NDC) players Oli Mathis, Aisake Vakasiuola and Will Martin are three exciting talents named in the squad.

Chiefs Rugby Club Head of Pathways Kent Currie said: “We have assembled an exciting group of talented young men to represent the Chiefs Rugby Club at the Super Rugby U20 National Tournament. The players have worked very hard during their time in the Chiefs Performance Pathway and we look forward to watching them test themselves against the best talent in New Zealand.

“A talented group of staff have worked very hard to prepare this squad. Win, lose or draw this has been a fantastic experience for all our players involved.”

The University of Waikato Chiefs U20’s first game will kick off at 11.05am this Saturday 16 March against the NZ Barbarians U20’s.

University of Waikato Chiefs U20s squad: (player, position, province)
Aisake Vakasiuola, Blindside Flanker, Bay of Plenty
Andrew Smith, Blindside Flanker, Waikato
Aoturoa Seeling, Loose Head Prop, Bay of Plenty
Apai Ma'u hinkes, Tighthead Prop, Counties Manukau
Breyton Legge, Loose Head Prop, Waikato
Brooke Mitchell, Openside Flanker, Bay of Plenty
Daniel Tickelpenny, First Five, Waikato
Dylan Eti, Lock, Waikato
Faauma Kupita, Tighthead Prop, Bay of Plenty
Fletcher Carpenter, Halfback, Bay of Plenty
Frank Vaenuku, Left Wing, Bay of Plenty
Giancarlo Tuivailala, Centre, Waikato
Grady Forbes, Openside Flanker, Bay of Plenty
Hone Mathieson, First Five, Taranaki
Joey Taumateine, No.8, Counties Manukau
Jole Naufahu, Fullback, Waikato
Joshua Brunger, Centre, Waikato
Kase Meyer, Second Five, Bay of Plenty
Micah Fale, Openside Flanker, Waikato
Oli Mathis, Openside Flanker, Waikato
Rui Farrant, Halfback, Waikato
Sione Tupou, Hooker, Bay of Plenty
Tai Cribb, Lock, Waikato
Tom McCarthy, Hooker, Waikato
Topia Barrowcliffe, Halfback, Taranaki
Waisake Salabiau, Right Wing, Waikato
Will Martin, Loose Head Prop, Waikato

Team Management:
Head Coach: James Porter
Coach: Leon Holden
Coach: Carl Hoeft
Coach: Rhys Bayliss
Manager: Paula Corlett & Mickey Tahere
Trainers: Matt Burgess & Te Manawa Ngawhika
Physio: Jodi Spurgeon & Nicola Shaw
Video: Brad Morgan

Super Rugby U20 Draw:

Match 1: Quarter Final, 11:05, Rank 4 NZ Barbarians v Rank 5 Chiefs
Match 2: Quarter Final, 13:05, Rank 1 Blues v Rank 8 Moana Pasifika
Match 3: Quarter Final, 15:05, Rank 2 Hurricanes v Rank 7 Fijian Drua
Match 4: Quarter Final, 17:05, Rank 3 Highlanders v Rank 6 Crusaders

Match 5: 11:05, 2nd Highest Rank QF Loser v 3rd Highest Rank QF Loser
Match 6: 13:05, Highest Rank QF Loser v Lowest Rank QF Loser
Match 7: Semi Final, 15:05, 2nd Highest Rank QF Winner v 3rd Highest Rank QF Winner
Match 8: Semi Final, 17:05, Highest Rank QF Winner v Lowest Rank QF Winner

Match 9: 7th/8th Playoff, 11:05, Loser Match 5 v Loser Match 6
Match 10: 5th/6th Playoff, 13:05, Winner Match 5 v Winner Match 6
Match 11: 3rd/4th Playoff, 15:05, Loser Match 7 v Loser Match 8
Match 12: Final (1st/2nd Playoff), 17:05, Winner Match 7 v Winner Match 8

Chiefs Squad Named for Super Rugby U20s Tournament