March 15, 2024

Cohesive Chiefs Manawa team named to face Matatū

Get Your Tickets Today

Chiefs Manawa team maintains continuity heading into round three of Sky Super Rugby Aupiki against Matatū.

A largely unchanged side is named with minimal rotation occurring through the starting 15. Waikato’s Kiriana Nolan will be the only new addition as she looks to make her debut off the bench. Chyna Hohepa moves into No.8, last weekend’s debutant Reese Anderson earns a starting spot on the wing and Azalleyah Maaka steps into the midfield.

At halfback, Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu starts with Ariana Bayler to provide impact.

Chiefs Manawa head coach Crystal Kaua said: “It's always a tough game against Matatū. Our focus this week is on ourselves, looking inward, and doing everything we can to be a better team.

“We have a lot of depth within our squad and you will see that in the changes each week, they are challenging each other and Thursdays on the field is a battle. We have another debutant this week in Kiri Nolan, a fearless young player with a big future. We are excited for her.”

The match will kick off at 4.35pm this Saturday at FMG Stadium Waikato, followed by the Gallagher Chiefs against the Fijian Drua at 7.30pm in an exciting Chiefs Festival of Rugby.

Chiefs Manawa team to face Matatū:
1. Kate Henwood
2. Luka Connor
3. Tanya Kalounivale
4. Charmaine Smith
5. Chelsea Bremner
6. Victoria Edmonds
7. Kennedy Simon
8. Chyna Hohepa
9. Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu
10. Chelsea Semple
11. Reese Anderson
12. Grace Steinmetz
13. Azalleyah Maaka
14. Ruby Tui
15. Renee Holmes

16. Vici-Rose Green
17. Krystal Murray
18. Bitila Tawake
19. Grace Kukutai
20. Mia Anderson
21. Ariana Bayler
22. Kiriana Nolan*
23. Mererangi Paul

*potential debut

All media enquiries to [email protected]

Cohesive Chiefs Manawa team named to face Matatū