April 10, 2021

Exciting University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20s squad confirmed for tournament

The University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20’s squad for the Super Rugby Aotearoa Under-20 tournament starting in Taupō on Sunday. The newly formed tournament will see Under 20 sides from the Blues, Chiefs, Hurricanes, Crusaders, Highlanders along with a New Zealand Barbarians Club Under 20 team take part in three match days at Owen Delany Park. All matches will be broadcast live on Sky on 11 April, 14 April and 17 April.

The exciting squad will be steadily guided by Waikato’s Paul Hodder and is assisted by Greg Smith (Waikato), Jarrad Hoeata (Taranaki), Chad Shepherd (Counties Manukau) and James Porter (Bay of Plenty).

The University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20s squad has been reduced to 26 after Hodder announced a wider 34-man squad from across Chiefs Country in March.

Chiefs Rugby Club Player ID and Development Manager Kent Currie said the tournament provides the Club with the opportunity to educate a talented pool of players from within the Chiefs Region.

“The Super Rugby Under 20 Tournament is a fantastic new initiative by New Zealand Rugby. Our players are excited to be playing on home soil against the best Under 20 players in our country. The provincial academy programmes within the Chiefs region are operating to a high standard at present, and it has given us a big depth of talent to choose from. This campaign gives us an opportunity to educate the players about the values of Chiefs Rugby,” said Currie.

2021 University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20s:
Ben Strang (Waikato)
Bernie Hati (Bay of Plenty)
Curtis Palmer (Bay of Plenty)
Daniel Sinkinson (Waikato)
Gideon Wrampling (Waikato)
Hakaria Richards-Coxhead (Waikato)
Havila Molia (Waikato)
Hemopo Cunningham (Taranaki)
Ioane Moananu (Counties Manukau)
Jadin Kingi (Counties Manukau)
Jona Mataiciwa (Bay of Plenty)
Josh Bartlett (Bay of Plenty)
Josh Jacomb (Taranaki)
Kane O’Connor (Bay of Plenty)
Larenz Tupaea Thomsen (Counties Manukau)
Latrell Smiler - Ah Kiong (Waikato)
Lucas Cashmore (Bay of Plenty)
Mason Tupaea (Waikato)
Melino Fotu (Bay of Plenty)
Nikora Broughton (Bay of Plenty)
Niwa Barlow (Taranaki)
Scott Jury (Taranaki)
Tama Te Aute (Bay of Plenty)
Te Paea Cook-Savage (Waikato)
Te Rama Reuben (Waikato)
Tevita Ofa (Counties Manukau)
Thor Manase (Counties Manukau)
Tu'ukalikali Vaipulu (Bay of Plenty)
Veveni Lasaqa (Bay of Plenty)

Team Management
Head Coach: Paul Hodder (Waikato)
Scrum & Defence: Greg Smith (Waikato)
Forwards & Lineout: Jarrad Hoeata (Taranaki)
Skills: Chad Shepherd (Counties Manukau)
Contact & Analysis: James Porter (Bay of Plenty)
Manager: David Fox (Waikato)
Trainers: Tim Hurst (Waikato) & Scott Joblin (Bay of Plenty)
Physiotherapists: Rachel Lambert (Bay of Plenty) & Lauren MacDonald (Bay of Plenty)

Super Rugby Aotearoa Under 20 Tournament Fixtures:
Sunday 11 April: Hurricanes v Chiefs, Kick-off: 11.30am
Wednesday 14 April: Crusaders v Chiefs, Kick-off: 3.30pm
Saturday 17 April: Barbarians v Chiefs, Kick-off: 1:00pm

Location: Owen Delany Park, Taupo
Broadcast: Live of Sky Sport

Exciting University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20s squad confirmed for tournament