September 02, 2020

Farah Palmer Cup Preview | Taranaki

With a new coaching set up for 2020, the Taranaki Whio have also been bolstered by services of Black Ferns Sevens star Gayle Broughton.

Coaches: Brendan Haami (Head coach), Devon Berry (Forwards coach), La Toya Mason (Backs coach)
Position 2019: 6th in Championship

Talking points
24 year-old Broughton has played 112 games on the World Sevens circuit, scoring 315 points. She’s a huge boost for the Whio who are looking to build on what was a tough season last year, unable to pick up a win. With the Olympics postponed until next year, Broughton has returned to Hāwera and played club rugby for Southern.

She’s joined in the squad by Sevens Youth Olympian, Iritana Hohaia and the experienced Jalana Smith, Sharee Brown, Kate Parkinson, Leah Barnard and Brooke Sim.

Four secondary school players have been rewarded for strong club season’s, with New Plymouth Girls’ High School students Chloe Sampson, Paige Neilson, Kelsyn McCook and Sacred Heart Girls College’s Danielle Muggeridge all earning a call up to the Whio for the first time.

Brendan Haami is the head coach for Taranaki this season, with Southern coach Devon Berry and former England halfback La Toya Mason his assistants. Mason is also the Taranaki women’s High Performance Manager.

Incoming players
Tiana Davison (returns from Manawatu)

Player to watch: Tiana Davison
Taranaki are stoked to have 19 year-old No 8 Tiana Davison back in the squad. The Coastal player and former Sacred Heart Girls College student transferred to Manawatu last season to study at Massey University. Davison represented New Zealand at the Youth Olympic games in Sevens in 2018. She’s an athletic loose forward with a high work rate and great leadership skills.

Taranaki Whio squad
Leah Barnard, Gayle Broughton, Sharee Brown, Tiana Davison, Freedom Edmonds, Chelsea Fowler, Tachelle Gardiner, Natale Haupapa, Iritana Hohaia, Kaya-Rose Kahui, Donia King, Alicia Manuuiriangi, Kelsyn McCook, Victoria McCullough, Hannah McLean, Danielle Muggeridge, Paige Neilson, Jaymi Ngaia, Kate Parkinson, Chloe Sampson, Brooke Sim, Lyn Smith, Jalana Smith, Kate Thomson, Catriona Tulloch, Aliene Wallis, Sharniqua Weston, Nicole Whittle, Sarah Winter

Taranaki Whio draw
Taranaki v Auckland
Sunday 6 September
12pm TET Stadium & Events Centre

Waikato v Taranaki
Saturday 12 September
11.35am FMG Stadium Waikato

Taranaki v North Harbour
Saturday 19 September
2.45pm TET Stadium & Events Centre

Bay of Plenty v Taranaki
Saturday 26 September
2pm Blake Park

Taranaki BYE
Saturday 3 October

Northland v Taranaki
Sunday 11 October
12.30pm Kaikohe RFC

Taranaki v Counties Manukau
Saturday 17 October
2pm TET Stadium & Events Centre

Farah Palmer Cup Preview | Taranaki