July 10, 2018

Gallagher Chiefs 2018 Season Celebration Award Winners

On Monday evening, the Chiefs whanau joined together to celebrate the 2018 season and recognize the immense contribution of those who are moving on as well as celebrate the outstanding performances of the season.

The annual awards were shared between seven players, reflecting the fantastic contributions across the whole team.

The 2018 award winners are:
University of Waikato Development Taua Player Award: Ayden Johnstone
Generation Homes Under 20’s Player Award: Laghlan McWhannell
Rookie of the year: Luke Jacobson
Fans Player of the Year: Damian McKenzie
Coaches Player of the Year: Brodie Retallick
Players Player of the Year: Solomon Alaimalo
Chiefs Mana Kotiate: Mitchell Karpik
Chiefs Personality Award: Angus Ta'avao

For only the third time in Chiefs history in a fitting tribute, Liam Messam was awarded the Chiefs Tohunga lifetime award to recognise his incredible career with the club both on and off the field across his 12 seasons with the team.

This Friday, the Gallagher Chiefs will play their last home game of the regular season against the Hurricanes at FMG Stadium Waikato. The game kicks off at 7:35. Tickets are available online here.

Gallagher Chiefs 2018 Season Celebration Award Winners