May 02, 2019

Gallagher Chiefs named to face Highlanders

Gallagher Chiefs head coach Colin Cooper has named his team for their match against the Highlanders at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin on Saturday.

Nepo Laulala returns from a knee injury named as the starting tighthead, shifting Angus Ta’avao to the reserves, in the only change to the forward pack from the team that took the field against the Hurricanes last week.

In the backs, halfback Brad Weber has been cleared to play and returns to start at nine. Etene Nanai-Seturo will start on the left wing and Sean Wainui returns to start on the right wing. Solomon Alaimalo will remain at full back to complete the back three.

On the reserves bench loosehead prop Ryan Coxon gets the nod ahead of Tevita Mafileo. Shaun Stevenson returns to the twenty three alongside utility back Bailyn Sullivan named respectively in jersey’s 22 and 23.

Head coach Colin Cooper said: "We have had a testing couple of weeks and we know it isn’t going to get any easier for us. We are not afraid of the contest on Saturday against the Highlanders, we have come together as a team over the week and remain focused on what we can control. We need to start strong and take that momentum through for the 80 minutes.”

Gallagher Chiefs:
1. Atu Moli (31)
2. Nathan Harris (52)
3. Nepo Laulala (25)
4. Michael Allardice (41) (c)
5. Mitchell Brown (30)
6. Luke Jacobson (19)
7. Lachlan Boshier (39)
8. Tyler Ardron (19)
9. Brad Weber (65)
10. Marty McKenzie (24)
11. Etene Nanai-Seturo (7)
12. Anton Lienert-Brown (63)
13. Tumua Manu (9)
14. Sean Wainui (21)
15. Solomon Alaimalo (31)

16. Liam Polwart (23)
17. Ryan Coxon (2)
18. Angus Ta’avao (26)
19. Jesse Parete (17)
20. Taleni Seu (43)
21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (26)
22. Shaun Stevenson (37)
23. Bailyn Sullivan (3)

() = Gallagher Chiefs caps in brackets
*denotes Gallagher Chiefs debut
**denotes Investec Super Rugby debut

Unavailable for selection:
Aidan Ross, Alex Nankivell, Brodie Retallick, Damian McKenzie, Fin Hoeata, Jack Debreczeni, Kane Hames, Mitchell Karpik, Reuben O’Neill, Sam Cane, Sam McNicol and Tiaan Falcon.

Game Day Information:
Fixture: Highlanders vs. Gallagher Chiefs, Saturday 4 May, 7.35pm
Location: Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin

Gallagher Chiefs named to face Highlanders