May 22, 2019

Gallagher Chiefs set for Reds challenge

Buy Now

The Gallagher Chiefs will return for their final regular season game at FMG Stadium Waikato for 2019 when they face the Reds on Friday at 7.35pm.

Head coach Colin Cooper has reshuffled his forward pack after Mitchell Brown sustained a knee injury against the Blues and Angus Ta’avao is on All Blacks leave. Nepo Laulala will start at tighthead, with Sosefo Kautai joining the bench as cover in jersey number 18. Tyler Ardron combines with Jesse Parete in a formidable locking duo. Sam Cane will start at six and Lachlan Boshier at seven, moving Mitchell Karpik to the bench in jersey number 20. Pita Gus Sowakula will complete the forward pack starting at number eight.

The only change to the exciting Gallagher Chiefs backline sees Alex Nankivell starting at second five eight in lieu of Anton Lienert-Brown who earns a week off with All Blacks leave.

On the reserves bench, Samisoni Taukei'aho moves onto the bench in place of Liam Polwart who has been ruled out with concussion. Counties Manukau lock Daymon Leasuasu is set to make his Investec Super Rugby debut off the bench in jersey number 19. Utility back Jack Debreczeni returns to the fold alongside Sean Wainui named on the bench in jersey 22 and 23 respectively. Loosehead prop Aidan Ross and halfback Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi retain their positions in the reserves.

Gallagher Chiefs:
1. Atu Moli (34)
2. Nathan Harris (55)
3. Nepo Laulala (28)
4. Jesse Parete (20)
5. Tyler Ardron (22)
6. Sam Cane (107) (c)
7. Lachlan Boshier (40)
8. Pita Gus Sowakula (11)
9. Brad Weber (68)
10. Marty McKenzie (27)
11. Etene Nanai-Seturo (10)
12. Alex Nankivell (19)
13. Tumua Manu (12)
14. Shaun Stevenson (40)
15. Solomon Alaimalo (34)

16. Samisoni Taukei’aho
17. Aidan Ross (21)
18. Sosefo Kautai (10)
19. Daymon Leasuasu**
20. Mitchell Karpik (19)
21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (28)
22. Jack Debreczeni (3)
23. Sean Wainui (23)

() = Gallagher Chiefs caps in brackets
*denotes Gallagher Chiefs debut
**denotes Investec Super Rugby debut

Unavailable for selection:
Angus Ta’avao, Anton Lienert-Brown, Brodie Retallick, Damian McKenzie, Fin Hoeata, Kane Hames, Laghlan McWhannell, Liam Polwart, Luke Jacobson, Michael Allardice, Mitchell Brown, Reuben O’Neill, Sam McNicol, Taleni Seu, Tevita Mafileo and Tiaan Falcon.

This week the Gallagher Chiefs are celebrating junior club rugby in Chiefs country by holding a ‘march past’ of over 1,500 kids, coaches and managers who are involved in club rugby across the regions which the Chiefs Rugby Club represent. The kids, coaches and managers attending will march around the match field from 6.00pm proudly wearing their respective club’s colours.

Fans who attend the match will also have the chance to win 1 of 100 family passes to the Fieldays. 100 family passes will be hidden in match day programmes, with 100 lucky fans will score a family pass to the Fieldays just by picking up a programme on entry.

Fans who attend the match will also have the chance to win 2 x tickets to the All Blacks vs Tonga match at FMG Stadium Waikato on Saturday 7 September at 2.35pm. Fans will be encouraged to take photo at the match and post it to social media to be in the draw to attend the test match.

The Gallagher Chiefs will take on the Reds on Friday 24 May at 7.35pm at FMG Stadium Waikato. Tickets are available for purchase from Ticket Rocket or here:

Game Day Information:
Fixture: Gallagher Chiefs vs. Reds, Friday 24 May, 7.35pm
Location: FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton
Gates Open: 5.50pm

Gallagher Chiefs set for Reds challenge