May 09, 2019

Gallagher Chiefs set for Sharks challenge

Buy Now

The Gallagher Chiefs will return to Hamilton’s FMG Stadium Waikato when they take on the Sharks on Saturday at 7.35pm.

Head Coach Colin Cooper has had to reshuffle his forward pack following injuries to Michael Allardice (ankle) and Lachlan Boshier (ribs) against the Highlanders last week. Tyler Ardron will shift into lock combining with Mitchell Brown. Jesse Parete moves from the bench to start at six, with Luke Jacobson moving to number eight. Mitch Karpik returns from a knee injury to start on the openside.

Cooper has named an unchanged backline from the side that took the field in Dunedin. Halfback Brad Weber will captain the side in the absence of co-captains Brodie Retallick and Sam Cane.

The reserves bench is largely unchanged with the exception of Pita Gus Sowakula named in jersey number 20 and utility back Alex Nankivell is named as the twenty third player.

Head coach Colin Cooper said: “The Sharks are a powerful pack and are coming off a strong performance against the Crusaders. Again we will be challenged this week. In order for us to be successful we need to capitalise on our opportunities and remain focused on delivering our game for a full 80 minutes. We do this then we will continue the momentum from where we finished last week and deliver an improved performance.”

Gallagher Chiefs:
1. Atu Moli (32) Ah-too Maw-lee
2. Nathan Harris (53) Nathan Harris
3. Nepo Laulala (26) Nep-paw La-oo-lah-lah
4. Tyler Ardron (20) Tiler Ah-dron
5. Mitchell Brown (31) Mitchell Brown
6. Jesse Parete (18) Jessy Pah-ret-tey
7. Mitchell Karpik (17) Mitchell Car-pick
8. Luke Jacobson (20) Luke Jay-cub-sun
9. Brad Weber (66) (c) Brad Web-ber
10. Marty McKenzie (25) Marty Mc-Kenzie
11. Etene Nanai-Seturo (8) Ette-ne Na-nigh Set-too-raw
12. Anton Lienert-Brown (64) Anton Lennert-Brown
13. Tumua Manu (10) Too-moo-ah Mah-noo
14. Sean Wainui (22) Shawn Why-noo-ee
15. Solomon Alaimalo (32) Sole-o-mon Allah-ee-mah-law

16. Liam Polwart (24) Liam Pole-wart
17. Ryan Coxon (3) Ryan Cock-sun
18. Angus Ta’avao (27) Angus Ta-ah-vah-aw
19. Taleni Seu (44) Ta-lenny Se-oo
20. Pita Gus Sowakula (9) Peter Gus Saw-a-cooler
21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (27) Teh Toy-raw-ah Tahoo-ree-aw-rung-ee
22. Shaun Stevenson (38) Shawn Stevenson
23. Alex Nankivell (16) Alex Nank-i-vil

() = Gallagher Chiefs caps in brackets
*denotes Gallagher Chiefs debut
**denotes Investec Super Rugby debut

Unavailable for selection:
Aidan Ross, Brodie Retallick, Damian McKenzie, Fin Hoeata, Jack Debreczeni, Kane Hames, Lachlan Boshier, Laghlan McWhannell, Michael Allardice, Reuben O’Neill, Sam Cane, Sam McNicol and Tiaan Falcon.

This week the Gallagher Chiefs are celebrating rugby’s diverse community by focusing on what makes people truly unique and reflects their identity - their name. Each of the players’ names has been identified phonetically to help encourage fans to pronounce the players’ names correctly.

With Mother’s Day on Sunday 12 May, this weekend Mum’s can attend for free, when purchasing three tickets in the Fan Zone the fourth is free*. Plus she will receive a free Gallagher Chiefs towel and box of chocolates. To redeem use the promotional code 'THANKSMUM' when purchasing online.

The Gallagher Chiefs will take on the Sharks on Saturday 11 May at 7.35pm at FMG Stadium Waikato. Tickets are available for purchase from Ticket Rocket or here:

*Limited availability

Game Day Information:
Fixture: Gallagher Chiefs vs. Sharks, Saturday 11 May, 7.35pm
Location: FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton
Gates Open: 5.50pm

Draw: Click here for full 2019 Investec Super Rugby Gallagher Chiefs draw.
Squad: Click here for the 2019 Gallagher Chiefs Squad

Gallagher Chiefs set for Sharks challenge