November 09, 2023

Gallagher Chiefs squad named for 2024

Clayton McMillan has confirmed the 38-man Gallagher Chiefs squad to contest the 2024 DHL Super Rugby Pacific competition.

There are nine current All Blacks featured in the refreshed side, eight new signings (seven of them rookies) and two familiar faces that make their return; first-five Kaleb Trask, following his sabbatical season in Japan, and prop Reuben O'Neill.

New signing Jimmy Tupou will bring a lot of experience having run out for 54 Super Rugby games with Crusaders and Blues on top of the last five seasons he has played in Japan.

In contrast to this experience; props Kauvaka Kaivelata and Sione Ahio, loose forwards Malachi Wrampling-Alec, Tom Florence and Wallace Sititi, midfielder Daniel Rona, and utility back Liam Coombes-Fabling secure their first full-time contracts in 2024.

“These guys have been knocking on our door for a while now and we are excited to offer them a place this year. They have been impressive throughout NPC and during their time in our environment, so rightly earn their spot within our squad,” said Gallagher Chiefs head coach Clayton McMillan.

“It’s a new look squad for us but despite the changes, there remains a lot of continuity within this group. They are familiar with our environment, know how we do things, and bring a lot to the table.”

New Zealand U20 representative Ahio is the only rookie named who will run out in Chiefs colours for the first time in 2024. He will line up alongside Chiefs Development XV players Kaivelata and Sititi, and New Zealand U20 and University of Waikato Chiefs U20s standout Wrampling-Alec.

No strangers to playing in Super Rugby, Florence and Coombes-Fabling are former injury replacement players for the Highlanders and Gallagher Chiefs. Similarly, Rona made the most of his time as an injury replacement this season to solidify himself at this level.

“Despite losing some experienced players, we have spent the last couple of years building the depth of our squad in anticipation for these departures. We have a lot of belief in the men we have selected and are looking forward with anticipation to seeing them take their opportunity in the new year.

“We’ll be putting in the work over summer and can’t wait to kick off the season at home in front of our loyal fans,” said McMillan.

The Gallagher Chiefs will open the season at FMG Stadium Waikato against the Crusaders in what is expected to be a sell-out. Fans can secure their seats for all Gallagher Chiefs and Chiefs Manawa home games now with a Chiefs Rugby Club Membership, available from

The 2024 Gallagher Chiefs Squad (Province, Chiefs caps):

Sione Ahio (Auckland, 0)
Naitoa Ah Kuoi (Bay of Plenty, 49)
Kaylum Boshier (Taranaki, 17)
Liam Coombes-Fabling (Waikato, 4)
George Dyer (Waikato, 21)
Samipeni Finau (Waikato, 32)
Tom Florence (Taranaki, 3)
Josh Ioane (Waikato, 17)
Luke Jacobson (Waikato, 63)
Kauvaka Kaivelata (Counties Manukau, 0)
Anton Lienert-Brown (Waikato, 106)
Josh Lord (Taranaki, 19)
Peniasi Malimali (Counties Manukau, 3)
Damian McKenzie (Waikato, 111)
Etene Nanai-Seturo (Counties Manukau, 44)
Emoni Narawa (Bay of Plenty, 29)
Ollie Norris (Waikato, 45)
Reuben O'Neill (Taranaki, 15)
Simon Parker (Waikato, 8)
Rameka Poihipi (Canterbury, 30)
Jared Proffit (Taranaki, 4)
Cortez Ratima (Waikato, 26)
Xavier Roe (Waikato, 17)
Daniel Rona (Taranaki, 9)
Aidan Ross (Bay of Plenty, 74)
Manaaki Selby-Rickit (Bay of Plenty, 5)
Wallace Sititi (North Harbour, 0)
Bradley Slater (Taranaki, 49)
Shaun Stevenson (North Harbour, 84)
Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (Bay of Plenty, 50)
Samisoni Taukei'aho (Waikato, 78)
Tyrone Thompson (Hawkes Bay, 15)
Kaleb Trask (Bay of Plenty, 23)
Quinn Tupaea (Waikato, 34)
Jimmy Tupou (Counties Manukau, 0)
Tupou Vaa'i (Taranaki, 44)
Gideon Wrampling (Waikato, 2)
Malachi Wrampling-Alec (Waikato, 0)

Bold denotes a rookie (first Super Rugby contract).

Wider training squad:
Hamilton Burr
Josh Jacomb
Adam Lennox
Mills Sanerivi
Tana Tahakarina

Gallagher Chiefs squad named for 2024