January 26, 2024

Gallagher Chiefs squad named for Japan pre-season

The Gallagher Chiefs have named their squad for the Cross Border Rugby pre-season in Japan.

The dynamic group features the experience of many All Blacks, such as Anton Lienert-Brown and Tupou Vaa’i, alongside some of the team’s younger talent. The tour will present an opportunity for these younger players to make their mark on coaches ahead of the DHL Super Rugby Pacific kick-off in less than a month.

The games played against Japan Rugby League One teams will be an exciting spectacle for local fans with some familiar faces in Damian McKenzie and Jimmy Tupou who played for Japanese sides in recent years.

Gallagher Chiefs head coach Clayton McMillan said: “We are really looking forward to these games in Japan in what will be a unique experience for most. It’s a great opportunity to connect with our fans abroad, bond as a squad and test ourselves against some quality opposition.

“In terms of the travelling squad selection, it has been a case of prioritising those that are fully fit to train and play, and the integration of our All Blacks who have only recently returned after an extended break. A number of non-travelling players are tracking well from niggly injuries and are on schedule to return to action in our last pre-season game against the Blues.”

The Gallagher Chiefs will travel to Japan next week for their first game against the Saitama Panasonic Wild Knights where they will reunite with former teammate Lachlan Boshier.

Gallagher Chiefs squad to travel to Japan:
1. Naitoa Ah Kuoi
2. Kaylum Boshier
3. George Dyer
4. Samipeni Finau
5. Luke Jacobson
6. Hamilton Burr
7. Simon Parker
8. Manaaki Selby-Rickit
9. Bradley Slater
10. Samisoni Taukei’aho
11. Tevita Ofa
12. Jimmy Tupou
13. Tupou Vaa’i
14. Malachi Wrampling
15. Sione Ahio
16. Liam Coombes-Fabling
17. Tom Florence
18. Josh Ioane
19. Kauvaka Kaivelata
20. Anton Lienert-Brown
21. Peniasi Malimali
22. Damian McKenzie
23. Rameka Poihipi
24. Cortez Ratima
25. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi
26. Xavier Roe
27. Daniel Rona
28. Wallace Sititi
29. Quinn Tupaea
30. Cody Nordstrom
31. Josh Jacomb
32. Millennium Sanerivi
33. Tana Tuhakaraina
34. Riley Hohepa
35. Aidan Ross
36. Jared Proffit
37. Reuben O’Neill
38. Ollie Norris

NZ: Sky Sport
Japan: J-Sports & J-Sports On Demand

Match Details
Saitama Panasonic Wild Knights vs Gallagher Chiefs
2.30pm JST/ 6.30pm NZST, Sunday 4 February 2024
Kumagaya Rugby Stadium

Kubota Spears Funabashi-Tokyo Bay vs Gallagher Chiefs
2.30pm JST/ 6.30pm Saturday 10 February 2024
Chichibunomiya Rugby Stadium

Gallagher Chiefs squad named for Japan pre-season