June 05, 2024

Gallagher Chiefs team named for home Quarter Final


Clayton McMillan’s Gallagher Chiefs have earned the home advantage for their DHL Super Rugby Pacific Quarter Final against the Queensland Reds this Friday night.

The team has been building slowly through the season and will be aiming to go to another level now as the competition enters the knockout stages.

From this point forward the Quarter Finalists will start on a clean slate with an opportunity to advance another step towards the championship title. Naming an electric backline and experienced locking duo, the Gallagher Chiefs are determined to take that step on Friday night.

“When we play the Reds, we tend to bring out the best in each other. Both teams like to express themselves with ball in hand and we are expecting a fast-paced and fierce encounter,” said Gallagher Chiefs head coach Clayton McMillan.

“We have been impressed with how the Reds have been playing, they are clear on their identity, have threats across the park to impose their game on you, and generally look a cohesive happy unit. They will be up for this game and have our full respect.”

Hoping to create a further challenge for the Queensland Reds, the Gallagher Chiefs are aiming for a back-to-back sell-out at FMG Stadium Waikato.

“We love playing at home and think we have the best supporters in the world. They have been magnificent turning up for us all year even though at times our season has reflected a bit of a rollercoaster journey. The comforts of home and our fans are all an advantage for us on Friday night,” said McMillan.

So far in the regular season 85,289 fans have made their way through the gates of FMG Stadium Waikato to support the Gallagher Chiefs, with 4,136 loyal season members who have shown up week after week.

Fans can secure their seat at the game from chiefs.flicket.co.nz.

Gallagher Chiefs team to face the Queensland Reds:
1. Aidan Ross
2. Samisoni Taukei’aho
3. George Dyer
4. Jimmy Tupou
5. Tupou Vaa’i
6. Samipeni Finau
7. Luke Jacobson (captain)
8. Wallace Sititi
9. Cortez Ratima
10. Damian McKenzie
11. Etene Nanai-Seturo
12. Rameka Poihipi
13. Anton Lienert-Brown
14. Emoni Narawa
15. Shaun Stevenson

16. Bradley Slater
17. Jared Proffit
18. Reuben O’Neill
19. Naitoa Ah Kuoi
20. Simon Parker
21. Xavier Roe
22. Quinn Tupaea
23. Daniel Rona

Unavailable for selection: Kaleb Trask, Malachi Wrampling, Gideon Wrampling and Josh Lord.

Gallagher Chiefs team named for home Quarter Final