September 12, 2020

Mitre 10 Cup Preview | Bay of Plenty

Winners of the Championship division in 2019, the Bay of Plenty Steamers climb up into the Premiership this season with a squad that features many familiar faces from last year’s successful campaign.

Coach: Clayton McMillan
Home ground: Tauranga Domain & Rotorua International Stadium
2019: Championship winners

Talking points
The Steamers are stacked with Super Rugby players this season and they’ve done some pretty impressive recruiting over the off-season. Blues first five-eighth Otere Black and Chiefs halfback Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi return home to their Bay of Plenty roots, while they’ll also have the services of All Blacks Sevens players Joe Webber, Regan Ware, Sam Dickson and skipper Scott Curry. Bay of Plenty will have both national captains, with new All Blacks skipper, Sam Cane also set to play for his beloved Steamers. Cane hasn’t played Mitre 10 Cup rugby since 2016, so he’ll be looking forward to lacing up the boots before the international season kicks off.

Player to watch
Emoni Narawa had a breakthrough season for the Steamers last year and off the back of that impressive campaign, made the Blues Super Rugby squad. The 21 year-old made his Blues debut against the Chiefs this year, but only had limited game time, with new All Black Caleb Clarke occupying the number 11 jersey for the majority of the season. The Fijian-born, former Hamilton Boys’ High School student will again be dangerous with the ball in hand and expect him to hit another level for the Steamers in this year’s campaign.

Incoming players
Jordan Lay, Keepa Mewett, Joe Webber, Regan Ware, Kane Le’aupepe, Zane Kapeli, Otere Black, Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi

Bay of Plenty squad
Aaron Carroll, Aidan Ross, Chase Tiatia, Cole Forbes, Dan Hollinshead, Emoni Narawa, Fa’asiu Fuatai, Haereiti Hetet, Hugh Blake, Jeff Thwaites, Joe Johnston, Joe Webber, Joe Tupe, Jordan Lay, Kaleb Trask, Kane Le’aupepe, Keepa Mewett, Kurt Eklund, Lalomilo Lalomilo, Leroy Carter, Luke Campbell, Mathew Skipwith-Garland, Mitchell Karpik, Nathan Vella, Nathan Harris, Nic Souchon, Otere Black, Regan Ware, Ross Geldenhuys, Sam Cane, Sam Dickson, Scott Curry, Stan van den Hoven, Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, Tevita Mafileo, Zane Kapeli

Bay of Plenty fixtures
Taranaki v Bay of Plenty
Sunday 13 September
2.05pm, TET Stadium & Events, Inglewood

Bay of Plenty v Southland
Saturday 19 September
7.05pm, Rotorua International Stadium

Wellington v Bay of Plenty
Friday 25 September
7.05pm, Sky Stadium, Wellington

Bay of Plenty v Auckland
Friday 2 October
7.05pm, Rotorua International Stadium

Tasman v Bay of Plenty
Sunday 11 October
2.05pm, Trafalgar Park, Nelson

Manawatu v Bay of Plenty
Saturday 17 October
2.05pm, Central Energy Trust Arena, Palmerston North

Bay of Plenty v Canterbury
Saturday 24 October
2.05pm, Tauranga Domain

Bay of Plenty v Hawke’s Bay
Sunday 1 November
2.05pm, Tauranga Domain

Waikato v Bay of Plenty
Sunday 8 November
2.05pm, FMG Stadium Waikato

Bay of Plenty v North Harbour
Sunday 15 November
2.05pm, Tauranga Domain

Mitre 10 Cup Preview | Bay of Plenty