July 03, 2019

Nankivell & Harris newest Māori All Blacks squad members

Māori All Blacks Head Coach Clayton McMillan said the squad named was an exciting mix of vast experience and new energy.

The 26-man squad includes six Gallagher Chiefs players; Nathan Harris, Mitchell Karpik, Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, Alex Nankivell, Shaun Stevenson & Sean Wainui.

Ash Dixon (Ngati Tahinga) Hawke's Bay / Highlanders
Nathan Harris (Ngati Apakura /Tainui) Waikato / Chiefs

Tyrel Lomax (Ngai Tuhoe/Muaupoko) Tasman / Highlanders
Ben May (Ngati Maniapoto) Hawke's Bay / Hurricanes
Marcel Renata (Ngati Whanaunga/Ngai Takoto) Auckland/ Blues
Ross Wright (Ngati Whatua/Ngati Porou) Northland / Blues

Tom Franklin (Ngati Maniapoto) Otago / Highlanders
Pari Pari Parkinson (Te Whanau a Apanui) Tasman / Highlanders
Isaia Walker-Leawere (Ngati Porou) Hawkes Bay / Hurricanes

Loose Forwards
Whetukamokamo Douglas (Ngati Porou/Ngati Whakaue) Canterbury / Crusaders
Elliot Dixon (Ngapuhi) Southland/ Highlanders
Akira Ioane (Ngapuhi/Te Whanau a Apanui) Auckland / Blues
Mitchell Karpik (Rongomaiwahine/Ngati Kahungunu) Bay of Plenty / Chiefs
Reed Prinsep (Te Rarawa) Canterbury / Hurricanes

Bryn Hall (Ngati Ranginui) North Harbour / Crusaders
Jonathan Ruru (Ngati Kahungunu/Rongomaiwahine) Auckland / Blues
Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (Ngati Pikiao) Taranaki / Chiefs

First five-eighths
Otere Black (Ngai Tuhoe/Te Whanau a Apanui/Ngati Tuwharetoa) Manawatu / Blues
Jackson Garden-Bachop (Ngati Awa) Wellington / Hurricanes
Fletcher Smith (Ngati Kahungunu) Waikato / Hurricanes

Alex Nankivell (Ngapuhi) Tasman / Chiefs
Rob Thompson (Ngati Kahungunu / Nga Rauru) Manawatu / Highlanders
Teihorangi Walden (Te Atiawa) Taranaki / Highlanders

Outside Backs
Jordan Hyland (Ngai Tahu) Northland / Highlanders
Shaun Stevenson (Ngapuhi) North Harbour / Chiefs
Sean Wainui (Ngai Tuhoe/Ngati Porou) Taranaki / Chiefs

“This is a really exciting squad to name. I think we have a good balance between the experience of guys who know how to perform at this level, and those who bring an important fresh perspective and energy. We also have some returning after an absence and they will bring some important knowledge into our group.

“We have named 26 players today, with one more, likely to be a prop, to be added before we travel next week.

“We’re excited to name four new caps in Nathan Harris, Alex Nankivell, Fletcher Smith and Jordan Hyland.
“With six players (Harris, Lomax, Dixon, Ioane, Hall and Tahuriorangi) in our mix with All Blacks experience, we can take a very solid squad to Suva and then on to Rotorua.

“Pulling on the Māori All Blacks jersey is a wonderful opportunity, and I know that these players will want to represent their heritage, their whanau and their country well. These next two fixtures will allow players to showcase what they have, and really put their best foot forward for higher honours.

“We’re looking forward to playing Fiji in Suva and then again in Rotorua. They’re a fantastic and exciting opposition who play a similar game to the Maori All Blacks. We know they’ll be looking to use this Series as preparation for their Rugby World Cup campaign.

“For some time we’ve been coveting a strong international opposition, and Fiji certainly fits that bill. We’re looking forward to the challenge of playing Fiji in back to back fixtures.

“I’m very excited about coaching a Māori team that is playing in Rotorua – what we consider to be the sentimental home of the Māori All Blacks.”

Māori All Blacks Schedule
V Fiji
Saturday 13 July 2019
ANZ Stadium, Suva

V Fiji
Saturday 20 July 2019
Rotorua International Stadium

Nankivell & Harris newest Māori All Blacks squad members