December 05, 2019

Talent set to grow at University of Waikato Chiefs Region Under 17 Development Day

63 talented young players have been selected from within the Chiefs Country region to partake in a one-day camp at the Chiefs Rugby Club training base on Thursday 5 December. The University of Waikato Chiefs Region Under 17 Development day will provide the selected squad with specific rugby-based skills in addition to fitness testing.

Chiefs Rugby Club Player Identification and Development Manager Kent Currie said the camp offers an opportunity for both players and coaches from across the region to learn and develop.

“It will be a great chance for these talented young men to soak up the knowledge they will learn over the day. They have a compact schedule across the day, but it will give them a great insight into the Chiefs development pathway.”

“The boys will benefit from the expertise of some quality coaches from within the region. Gallagher Chiefs coaches, Scrum Coach Nick White and Resource Coach Andrew Strawbridge will lead position specific and core skills respectively. Former Chiefs Rugby Club Alumni, Deon Muir, Mike Delany, Nathan White and Todd Miller will be involved in delivering position specific skills sessions. They will be joined by coaches from within the Chiefs region including, Bay of Plenty Steamers Assistant Coach Mike Rogers, Counties Manukau High Performance Manager Dameon Chaney, Taranaki Development Officer Warwick Lahmert and Waikato Academy Manager Rhys Ballis are among the 16 coaches involved in the day,” said Currie.

The following players have been selected to attend the University of Waikato Chiefs Under 17 Development day at the Gallagher Chiefs Training Base on Thursday 5 December.

Adam Faalolo (Counties Manukau)
Andrew Smith (Waikato)
Brooklyn Greer Atkins (Taranaki)
Che Potaka (Taranaki)
Daniel Lagalaga Slade (Counties Manukau)
Diesel Lee Jakeman (Counties Manukau)
Esala Junior Tolutau’u (Counties Manukau)
Gabe Robinson (Waikato)
George Reeves (Waikato)
Jayden Corbett (Thames Valley)
Jonty Short (Waikato)
Josh Keech (Taranaki)
Kees Phillips (King Country)
Keran Van Standen (Waikato)
Lincoln Winter (Waikato)
Logan Mitchell (Taranaki)
Logo Falanai (Bay of Plenty)
Luke Lenter (Counties Manukau)
Michael Fetalaiga (King Country)
Moses McGoon (Waikato)
Otama Roberts (Thames Valley)
Patukino Williams (Bay of Plenty)
Perry Laurence (Taranaki)
Peter Te Kahu (King Country)
Quinton Landman (Bay of Plenty)
Sean Ralph (Waikato)
Slade Baker Taingahue (Bay of Plenty)
Sloane Lankster (Bay of Plenty)
Toby Taylor (Bay of Plenty)
Viliame Tuisuva (Counties Manukau)
Whareporera Hare Herbert (Bay of Plenty)

Anaru Paenga-Morgan (Waikato)
Anthony Makiha (Thames Valley)
Beau Peart (Waikato)
Ben Strang (Waikato)
Billy Tomu (Counties Manukau)
Bless Perese Elliot (Bay of Plenty)
Brayden Drew (Bay of Plenty)
Charles Salesi (Waikato)
Cody Nordstrom (Waikato)
Cohen Brady Leathem (Counties Manukau)
Dawson Smith (Waikato)
Devyn Sheehan (Thames Valley)
Fatiuma Moeahu Leota (Taranaki)
Isi Taimikovi (Counties Manukau)
Jaeden Wilson (Waikato)
Jerico Yorke (Bay of Plenty)
Jordan Corcoran (Thames Valley)
Liam Prisk (King Country)
Liukhane De Thierry Rhind (Counties Manukau)
Monty Anitoni (Counties Manukau)
Ngakohu Walker (Bay of Plenty)
Noah Callaghan (Taranaki)
Patrick Hedley (King Country)
Regan Atamu (Counties Manukau)
Ryan Michie (Counties Manukau)
Taha Kemara (Waikato)
Te Poria Marsh (Waikato)
Timothy Banks (Counties Manukau)
Tom Morris (Taranaki)
Topia Barrowcliff (Taranaki)
Viliame Tuisuva (Counties Manukau)
Xavier Sofeni (Taranaki)

Talent set to grow at University of Waikato Chiefs Region Under 17 Development Day