April 20, 2022

Team named to face Waratahs in Super Round Melbourne

The Gallagher Chiefs have named their side to kick off Super Round Melbourne against the Waratahs this Friday at 9pm NZT. A 27-man squad has been confirmed to travel across the ditch today for two matches against the Waratahs and Reds before the team returns home to face the Brumbies at FMG Stadium Waikato on May 7th. Super Round Melbourne will feature all 12 Super Rugby Pacific teams playing Round 10 fixtures at AAMI Park this weekend.

In the front row, Aidan Ross regains his starting spot at loosehead prop, joined by the returning All Black hooker Samisoni Taukei’aho, while Angus Ta’avao keeps his tighthead prop position.

In the loose forwards, after captaining the side to victory over Moana Pasifika last weekend, Luke Jacobson shifts to blindside flanker as Gallagher Chiefs Co-captain Sam Cane returns to start at openside. The powerful Pita Gus Sowakula returns to don his familiar number 8 jersey.

The only changes to the backline that faced Moana Pasifika are on the wings. Quinn Tupaea returns to start on the left wing while Jonah Lowe shifts to a starting position on the right.

In the reserves, Bradley Slater will provide cover at hooker while Ollie Norris shifts to the bench in jersey 17. The only other changes to the bench are in the backline. Xavier Roe returns from injury to cover halfback and Inga Finau has been brought in as a utility back, possibly in-line to make his Super Rugby Pacific debut in jersey 23.

Gallagher Chiefs Head Coach Clayton McMillan is focused on growth as the team transition towards playing Australian-based sides leading into the finals.

“We’re focused on growth in our game as there were some things we made progress on during the first half of the competition and some areas that we got exposed. We back ourselves to get to a quarter-final and when you get to that point it’s a one-off game. So it’s about finding as much growth as you can between now and then to give yourself a decent chance.” said McMillan.

Additional players to travel with the twenty-three today include Kaylum Boshier, Atu Moli, Kaleb Trask and Tyrone Thompson. Mitch Brown is also scheduled to join the team after the match against the Waratahs.

Tickets for Super Round Melbourne, presented by Fiji Airways, are available from premier.ticketek.com.au.

Gallagher Chiefs to face Waratahs (Super Round Melbourne)

1. Aidan Ross
2. Samisoni Taukei’aho
3. Angus Ta’avao
4. Josh Lord
5. Tupou Vaa’i
6. Luke Jacobson
7. Sam Cane ©
8. Pita Gus Sowakula
9. Cortez Ratima
10. Bryn Gatland
11. Quinn Tupaea
12. Rameka Poihipi
13. Alex Nankivell
14. Jonah Lowe
15. Chase Tiatia

16. Bradley Slater
17. Ollie Norris
18. George Dyer
19. Naitoa Ah Kuoi
20. Samipeni Finau
21. Xavier Roe
22. Rivez Reihana
23. Inga Finau*

Additional players travelling to Australia today:
Kaylum Boshier, Atu Moli, Kaleb Trask, Tyrone Thompson

Unavailable for selection:
Reuben O’Neill, Gideon Wrampling, Simon Parker, Brodie Retallick, Josh Ioane, Sione Mafileo, Laghlan McWhannell, Anton Lienert-Brown, Emoni Narawa, Shaun Stevenson, Brad Weber, Etene Nanai-Seturo

Fixture Information:
Fixture: Gallagher Chiefs vs Waratahs (Super Round Melbourne), Friday 22 April, 9.00pm NZT
Location: AAMI Park, Melbourne
Broadcast/Tickets: Tickets from ticketek, live on Sky Sport

Team named to face Waratahs in Super Round Melbourne