April 16, 2021

University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20 team named for final match against the NZ Barbarians

University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20 Head Coach Paul Hodder has named his side for their final game of the Super Rugby Aotearoa Under 20 Tournament in Taupō against the New Zealand Barbarians.

Following two impressive wins against the Hurricanes and Crusaders Hodder has chosen to rotate his squad for their final fixture.

The 1.00pm clash will see a new front row of Mason Tupaea, Ioane Moananu and Curtis Palmer. Gallagher Chiefs lock Josh Lord joins the squad to combine with Counties Manukau’s Jadin Kingi. Taranaki’s Hemopo Cunningham shifts to the blindside, with Nikora Broughton unchanged at openside. Bay of Plenty’s Melino Fotu will complete the forward pack at number eight.

In the backline, Bay of Plenty’s Kane O’Connor retains the starting number nine jersey with Waikato’s Angus Kay once again covering on the bench. Taranaki’s Josh Jacomb will direct the backline at first five-eighth, with Waikato’s Te Paea Cook Savage covering on the bench. Captain Gideon Wrampling shifts to second five and is joined by Bay of Plenty’s Tama Te Aute at centre, shifting from the left wing. Taranaki’s Niwa Barlow will take the left wing and Tevita Ofa will again be on the right. Jona Mataiciwa will pull on the number fifteen jersey to complete an exciting backline.

In the reserves, Bay of Plenty hooker Bernie Hati will be joined by teammate Josh Bartlett and Waikato prop Havila Molia, to cover the front row. While Kali Vaiplulu and Veveni Lasaqa will provide lock and loose forward cover in jersey’s nineteen and twenty, respectively. Counties Manukau’s Larenz Thompsen will round out the changes in jersey twenty-three outside back cover.

University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20 Team:
1. Mason Tupaea (Waikato)
2. Ioane Moananu (Counties Manukau)
3. Curtis Palmer (Bay of Plenty)
4. Josh Lord (Taranaki)
5. Jadin Kingi (Counties Manukau)
6. Hemopo Cunningham (Taranaki)
7. Nikora Broughton (Bay of Plenty)
8. Melino Fotu (Bay of Plenty)
9. Kane O’Connor (Bay of Plenty)
10. Josh Jacomb (Taranaki)
11. Niwa Barlow (Taranaki)
12. Gideon Wrampling (Waikato) (c)
13. Tama Te Aute (Bay of Plenty)
14. Tevita Ofa (Counties Manukau)
15. Jona Mataiciwa (Bay of Plenty)

16. Bernie Hati (Bay of Plenty)
17. Josh Bartlett (Bay of Plenty)
18. Havila Molia (Waikato)
19. Kali Vaiplulu (Bay of Plenty)
20. Veveni Lasaqa (Bay of Plenty)
21. Angus Kay (Waikato)
22. Te Paea Cook Savage (Waikato)
23. Larenz Tupaea Thompsen (Counties Manukau)

Team Management
Head Coach: Paul Hodder (Waikato)
Scrum & Defence: Greg Smith (Waikato)
Forwards & Lineout: Jarrad Hoeata (Taranaki)
Skills: Chad Shepherd (Counties Manukau)
Contact & Analysis: James Porter (Bay of Plenty)
Manager: David Fox (Waikato)
Trainers: Tim Hurst (Waikato) & Scott Joblin (Bay of Plenty)
Physiotherapists: Rachel Lambert (Bay of Plenty) & Lauren MacDonald (Bay of Plenty)

Super Rugby Aotearoa Under 20 Tournament Fixtures:
Saturday 17 April: Barbarians v Chiefs, Kick-off: 1:00pm

Location: Owen Delany Park, Taupo
Broadcast: Live on Sky Sport

Super Rugby Aotearoa Under 20 Tournament Results:
Sunday 11 April: Hurricanes 26 v Chiefs 40
Wednesday 14 April: Crusaders 28 v Chiefs 49

University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20 team named for final match against the NZ Barbarians