Taranaki Rugby Union Logo


Taranaki Rugby Football Union has a proud history that dates back to its inception in 1885. Since then, Taranaki has won the coveted Ranfurly Shield six times, the most recent was in 2017, when the amber and blacks beat Canterbury in a historic comeback win. There have been other famous Ranfurly Shield victories in the 1950s and 1960s. The side has won the Division Two title seven times, before being promoted into the top division of the National Provincial Championship, now known as the Mitre 10 Cup. Taranaki won the Mitre 10 Cup premiership title in 2014, for the first time, and have been regular contenders in the semi-finals.

Taranaki has a strong Super Rugby following, first aligned with the Hurricanes from 2006-2012 seasons and joined the Chiefs in 2013. The Chiefs have supported Taranaki Rugby with regular matches being played at Yarrow Stadium.


Former Chiefs Captain Craig Clarke played for the Taranaki Bulls.